Hello from "sunny" Florida

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Millstone Farm, Dec 20, 2010.

1. Millstone Farm

Millstone Farm New Member

Dec 19, 2010
    Chipley, Florida
    Hi all,
    My name is Wayne Webb and I'm just getting started in the meat goat business.
    We just fenced in 8 acres of our 20 acre farm and we presently have 19 does and 11 babies. Our buck is 7/8 Boer and the does are Boer, Kiko and some mixed breeds.
    One of the babies' mother has very little milk as her udder is very small and we are bottle feeding the baby.
    I would like to hang out here for awhile/
    Thanks!

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    Welcome...Welcome...glad you are here Wayne.... :thumb: :wave:

How long ago did your Doe kid? Depending upon when that was... the vet.. has a shot to give her... to help drop milk....

How much grain are you feeding her and what type of hay?

Milk the doe and feed it to the kid.... even if... it is just a little.. that you are getting out...bumping and milking her ...also helps stimulate her... to drop more milk without the stimulation...she won't produce much... Even putting the kid on her... will help to stimulate.... :wink:

By the way......... we want you to hang out....anytime day or night...you are very welcome... :greengrin:

3. Hush Hills Fainters

Hush Hills Fainters New Member

Oct 27, 2010
    Good Morning from Snowy Washington!!!!..Glad to have ya hang out for awhile!!! :leap:

4. bleatinghearts

bleatinghearts New Member

Feb 26, 2010
    Fairbanks, AK
    Welcome Wayne! This is a great place to be. Youll be hooked in no time.
    :) Shelley

5. Millstone Farm

Dec 19, 2010
    Chipley, Florida
    Thanks for the warm welcome, y'all!