Hello, I could really use some help

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by jlgalvin, Apr 26, 2010.

1. jlgalvin

jlgalvin New Member

Apr 25, 2010
    Please bear with me, I am new to goats and your board. I was not sure where to place my post, as it contains many different questions.
    I hope I don't let this get to long, because I am hoping some of you will read it and offer me some advice and tips.

Last Thursday we purchased two 12 week old Nubian males. She had banded them 1 week prior. They had only been outside about 2 -3 times, and had very little to no human contact. They had not yet been weaned. I am adding these details in case they are helpful

When I went to see them, she kept mentioning coccidia, and putting stuff in the water for it. I researched coccidia on the web,a nd saw that it had the potential to get serious and fatal. I felt slightly more informed and decided to go ahead and purchase the goats. These goats are just pets. No breeding or showing.

When I picked them up, again the coccidia was mentioned alot,a nd she gave me a powder to put in their water. I believe it was Dimethox ( the envelope is in the barn right now). THe istructions on the back did not give me proper dosing for my size water container, so I decided since I was such a newbie, I was betetr off just taking a fecal to the vet. Both kisds have coccidia. They are getting SMZ orally for 5 days and Corid in their water for 21. They want me to come back in about 6 weeks to recheck the fecal to see if they need to stay on a daily program.

Does the above sound like a reasonable way to treat and ward off the coccidia? I also amd cleaning their food and water buckets daily, and cleaning their stall and removing as much fecal matter as possible daily. Replacing all the hay and straw as well. Is there more I should be doing?