Hello New here. and have some questions about Dairy Goats

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by Kfin, Jun 23, 2010.

1. Kfin

Kfin New Member

Jun 23, 2010
    Canyon, TX
    Hello from Texas, my name is Kassie. I have recently decided to start raising Dairy Goats, I want to use the milk for Soap and also possibly for drinking and bakeing.

But I am just learning about them. I live in the country and we have horses so I don't have to worry so much about room and such.

What I do want is something that will be easy to raise, that will also have a sweet and gentle disposition. I love the looks of the Nubian. What breeds do you recomend based on what?

Also for getting the milk drinkable what needs to be done? Testing ect.?

I have read a lot on the board already and really enjoy reading your posts and have learned a lot already. I am going to look at some Nigerian Dwarfs and some Mini Nubians tomorrow.

I might possibly even like to show a couple of goats.

I had a Boer Goat in the past and loved her. She was very sweet and kept us entertained for hours. We have a foaling barn for our horses, and I plan on letting the Does kid in the barn since it has a barn camera I can watch from the house. Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I have just purchased two books also and am loving what I am reading about the goats.

2. JessaLynn

JessaLynn New Member

Aug 29, 2009
    NW Ohio
    Re: Hello New here. and have some questions about Dairy Goat

First off Welcome to TGS :wave: Here is a link to a site with tons of useful info http://fiascofarm.com/goats/index.htm I started with Mini Nubians and they are great but to use them for showing might not be a good idea to start off with unless you get some that meet the confirmation and are pure bred Mini Nubians.Nubians are wonderful and are easy in my opinion.Nigerians would make a wonderful rich creamy soap with their milk I bet! Good luck with your search!

3. Epona142

Epona142 The farm that Hope began