Hello!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by DopeyOpie, Jan 4, 2009.

1. DopeyOpie

DopeyOpie New Member

Jan 4, 2009
    Canada
    Hi everyone, I just wanted to introduce myself! I'm Megan and I have two pet goaties, Opie and Tavi.

Opie is a four year old buck, and I'm not totally sure what breed of goat he is. When we got him over three years ago, all my family wanted was a goat to eat the grass and weeds around our barns. That's about all we knew... hence us having a buck as a pet. The person we got him from probably wasn't the best place to get a goat :roll: She *thought* he was a Boer crossed with something. Looking at pictures of Boer bucks, I don't think he looks like them at all, but I'm no expert. I've been suggested by a couple people that he's either an Alpine or an Alpine with some other breed. Anyway, I've read sooo much bad about bucks (mainly as pets), but I gotta say, I love my Opie goat and I wouldn't change him :greengrin: He's got so much personality and is very opinionated - also very destructive! He does get somewhat aggressive during rut, but it's really not all that bad.

Tavi is not a year old yet. We got him during the summer as a friend for Opie. He is a wether. His mother is a Nubian/Saanen and his father is a Toggenburg/Alpine. Tavi is such a sweetheart and has just started to get more outgoing and playful. He has grown sooo much since we brought him home, it always surprises me LOL. Tavi is like a funny-looking dog and will follow me around the farm. He likes to give nose kisses too :greengrin:

Here are some pictures of my babies! Opie and Tavi standing outside their shed:
    [​IMG]

My dopey Opie showing off his horns and glaring at the camera:
    [​IMG]

And little Tavi-kins waiting for fresh hay (and for me to get rid of the hay they threw all over the place lol):
    [​IMG]

I'm looking forward to learning lots here!

2. Sonrise Farm

Sonrise Farm New Member

Sep 18, 2008
    Southwick, Idaho
    Hi! Welcome to TGS! :wave: