The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I dot know what happens to my 5 month old she is lath argue and not looking to good fell over when I walked her into the light to look her over and her eyes look like this! I am so scared for her she haven't eaten all day never came across this!!!

Attachments

·
1,062 Posts
Sadly that doesn't look good. And the falling over isn't good either. Anything else you can telll us? Temp, is she vaccinated, wormed? Was she raised by mom or bottle. Did she get in to anything? If possible I would call vet asap

·
Registered
979 Posts
I'm not an expert but you need to get vitals for us...temp, heart rate, breathing.

Is the goat rigid? Was it "stargazing" I'm suspecting things like goat polio...tetanus ... but not enough information yet... like could the goat have gotten some bad feed or poisonous plants. Etc...

Things that wont hurt... give thiamine if you have it, fortified b complex shot if not. You can give tetanus antitoxin and C/D/ antitoxin (not the same as CD/T vaccine). These won't hurt and will help some pretty serious ills.

·
2,203 Posts
This can also occur with severe head trauma. Getting stuck in a fence, kicked by a large animal, falling off a large distance and landing improperly, etc.

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·