The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I am new to this. Living in rural Missouri roughly 80miles east of Kansas city.

I had three goats turn up at the property last fall. The oldest died in the winter. Appeared to be a heart attack. Thing was half bald and very white. Appeared to be a Nubian. I am posting a picture of the last two. All were females.

The old(deceassd-poor old goat) and youngest appeared to be duplicates. Leading me to believe old goat and black goat to be mother daughter.

Needing help with this blonde, or tan goat.

Floppy's breed is not popping out on any generic breed list with pictures.

Wanting to get into milking and possibly small scale breeding.

Hope the introduction covers everything. I assume black goat is Nubian.

·
Super Moderator
58,901 Posts
They both have Nubian in them. The black one looks more full Nubian but without knowing for sure, you never know. I would say the other one is a Nubian mix.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Really? Any idea what else Floppy may be? The 'Old Goat' mom looked identicle to the black goat. Except taller, older and her markings were more prominent. Those pictures are from the fall of last year. Since then Black goat got bigger. Floppy fatter. Old Goat passed away.

Floppy is a tad shorter, has a full beard now. Weighs probably 120-130pounds. Black goat finally has five, six inches of horn. Probably 100lbs now. Just about as tall as Floppy. Still not done growing. Her mother was almost two inches taller than the tan one.

Black one is silent and shy. Tan one will knock you over for attention. Bring any sweet grain and watch them chase each other for it!

Guessing black goat is 1 1/2 yes, maybe two years. When she showed up, had less than an inch of horn.