Help! Do I need BoSe?

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by lovespud, Jan 7, 2010.

1. lovespud

lovespud Member

Nov 3, 2009
    Hi, I'm new to goats (7 months in). I keep reading about BoSe but I don't know how necessary it is in my area. I live in Northcentral Pa. My goats eat good mixed hay (I know it's good because I have a finicky mare), Blue Seal Caprine Challenger (small amounts) mixed with alfalfa pellets, BOSS, and Calf Manna. They also have freechoice goat minerals, salt block, baking soda and of course clean water. Do I need the BoSe? We are breeding our doe this weekend! I am way too excited about it!!! BTW, our goats are very healthy, happy and have abundant energy, so they don't SEEM to need anything more. I just don't want that to change because I left something out of their diet. Thanks for this forum - I have learned SOOOOO much!!!

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I cant say for sure if you are in a dificient area or not.

I have gone years without using any kind of selenium supplement until a couple years ago when I had some very weak kids born.

I had changed from a goat feed to a horse feed - not sure if that had anything to do with it but I had also changed my minerals.

If you have a good loose mineral around then I wouldnt think they will need a Bo-Se shot.

My favorite Loose mineral is Top Choice by Southern States, Purina goat minerals are also good. I hear Golden Blend are good as well.

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    sounds like.. they are getting what they need ...through your feeding program..... It doesn't seem ...as if ...they need anything more.... Great job... :wink: :thumbup:

4. lovespud

lovespud Member

Nov 3, 2009