The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to dairy goats and I recently purchased a "herd" from a couple who only had them a short while. There were 2 moms saanen/alpine cross and 4 babies (1 for the one mom and triplets for the other). The people I bought them from has no clue about goats and had plans to make soap etc and realized it was harder than they had planned so they sold them all. Now here is my question: Both moms are twin sisters. Both only seem to have milk on one side. The other side on the first goat doesnt even fill with milk. The second goat has a really weird teat that hangs low and almost blends in with that side of the udder. That side does not give milk.......it gives a yellow liquid that looks like beer and really foamy. I have only been raising dairy goats for 2 years and cannot seem to find anything on the internet to explain this. Both moms give 1 gallon a day from the one side (2 quarts each milking). I have just been dumping because after what I saw come from the other side I was afraid to drink it. Waiting on a vet to come, but wanted to see if anyone else had ever run into this. I will get photos at tonights milking.

·
Registered
7,609 Posts
How old are the kids? Are the kids still nursing? If so that might explain why one teat doesn't have milk, but mastitis would be my guess for the one test that had yellowish color to it. I'm no expert I'm fairly new to goats myself, I'm sure someone more experienced will chime in here:)

·
Registered
48 Posts
Sounds like mastitis. You will need to get that treated ASAP or things can go really down hill. It's caused by bacteria so you're going to want to milk the doe completely in order to get the bacteria out. There are a few forms of treatment you can chose from, some are even herbal. Something you would want to talk to your bet about.

·
Registered
30,577 Posts