Help! Goat Recovering from Xylazine?

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by erisfae, Sep 6, 2012.

1. erisfae

erisfae Goat Mama

Sep 3, 2012
    Pittsburgh PA
    I've always had horses, but I'm new to goats. We took our two boys to be wethered today; the little one got away with a banding, but the bigger one had to be castrated, straight out.

So, our Nigerian Dwarf was given an IV injection of Xylazine. How do we help him recover? He's completely knocked out, can't even lift his head, drooling and gassy.

We've got penicillin, as our vet advised, and are keeping him propped up right, not letting him lie flat. Our vet had an emergency case come in, as we were finishing up, and couldn't explain much else to do. What else do we do for him?

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    I don't think your vet was suppose to give a goat this stuff, please read link below.

I never heard of the stuff until you mentioned it. I see that your goat needs a vet that knows how to bring him out of it, he may aspirate the fluid and dehydrate.The bloat may kill him as well. I do not think, that vet is very smart, as that is an emergency in itself, in my opinion. Seek another vet if you can.
    I just don't know how to remedy it. Never experienced it.
    Other than maybe, give gas X, baking soda, try to get him on his feet and rub his left side (rumen) and throat, to get him to burp, try getting him up. The more he lays there, the more he will bloat, don't let him aspirate his drool, don't feed him until he get more awake. If you rather get a vet's opinion I highly recommend it. :hug: :pray: Your goat is at high risk.

Don't know either, if you can give epinephrine , ask a vet that knows goats if possible.

http://www.elephantcare.org/Drugs/xylazine.htm

3. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA