The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! Complete newbie here ..... I bought 2 dwarf Nigerian/Nubian twins that were approx six months old 10/10/2020. My question is do does develop small udders and elongated teats as they get older OR only if they are pregnant ? I've noticed more rounded bellies and as of yesterday small udder sac and more prominent teats ...... I am hoping y'all can give me some insight if I need to worry about them having babies soon . Feeling a bit overwhelmed. We weren't planning or aware they could be pregnant when we bought them

6259FE5F-678E-4CE4-865D-761CBD5AAADC.jpeg
0BFCD097-BDFD-4B5A-9E50-5730432A2597.jpeg

·
Registered
3,849 Posts
Hello and welcome to TGS!
To me it does look like they are forming udders.
The only time other than by being pregnant that they form udders is what is called a precocious udder.
Can you contact the place you bought them from and find out if they were around a buck?
I hope more experienced people will come on to help you soon.
I can totally understand being overwhelmed! Goat keeping has a steep learning curve as it is, pregnancies even steeper!
Good luck to you and your does!!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The only time other than by being pregnant that they form udders is what is called a precocious udder.
Can you contact the place you bought them from and find out if they were around a buck?
I can totally understand being overwhelmed! Goat keeping has a steep learning curve as it is, pregnancies even steeper!
Thank you for the quick reply ☺

·
Registered
Capriculturalist and Goat Slave
1,532 Posts
Yep...it COULD be precocious udder but if they are also getting rounded (of course that could be due to eating more) then it's likely they are bred. Do a blood test to be sure! Wont tell you when they would be due, but at least you will know to be expecting.