HELP! I found an abcess on my goat!

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by kelebek, Oct 19, 2007.

1. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    Last night during feeding, I was petting my buck, and noticed a clump of hair fell out in my hand. I got looking at it, and he had a "cyst" looking thing on his back.

Being that I was a veterinary nurse for so long, I knew that I needed to open it and find out what was in it.

I took a sterile 20 g needle and found an abcess. I opened it in many places and got all the "gunk" out of it.

I couldn't give him an antibiotic injection, as I used the last sterile needle to open the abcess, but I put an antibiotic cream on it. I will pick up needles today for injections and a scaple blade to open completely and clean it properly.

Here is my question. I vaccinated on the 8th, 10 days ago. I used a clean needle and syringe for every one. Do you think it could have been from that? I can't remember if that is the area where I vaccinated, as I did 10 goats that night, by myself while it was starting to get dark.

I would hate to think it is because of me...... as I have been giving injections for 10 years. But accidents happen I guess.

Does anyone else have any suggestions on how to care for it. He is so dirty!!!! I know that I need to lance it, flush it, and keep an antibiotic cream on it, but I sure hope his hair grows back. It is the size of a half dollar.

:-(

2. trob1

trob1 New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Middle TN
    Well the only way to really know for sure if you are dealing with CL was to have the stuff inside it tested. What was inside it? I try to give all my injections under the front arm pit so I know when i feel a lump there I caused it. The hair falling out would have me somewhat worried.

3. enjoytheride

enjoytheride New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Humboldt Co Ca