The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone. I'm still new to the goat world and I found a decent buck. I haven't bought him yet but I'm thinking about it. I'm sending my girls off to a buck this year and maybe next year but not sure. I'm trying to build my herd from just a few goats that's why I haven't been in a hurry to buy a buck but I figured if I found one that I liked then why not go a head and pic him up. We have a lot of Nubian breeders here but the good ones are WAY out of my price range. Most of the top breeders sell for $400 and up. I just can't pay that for a goat at the moment. Anyway back to the buck lol. I wanted a black spotted buck and I found one. I'm just still not good at judging the confirmation on the Nubians. Could I get ya'll input on him? I'll also add a pic of my girls. I know one of my girls is a little on the thin side but I'm hoping with a good buck I can still get really nice kids from her. http://dallas.craigslist.org/ndf/grd/3964070388.html This is the CL post on the buck.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,319 Posts
i really cant tell much by the pictures, but i think he's a little weak in the chine, and he may toe out in the rear but that might be from improper foot care. overall though he looks ok.i'll bet he'd make pretty babies with your does!

·
Shady Acre Homestead
14,283 Posts
First, let me say your does are beautiful :)
My concern with the buck is this...first photo is too confusing to see definition due to the other goat in the pic. But the second pic, I wonder why his hair is raised...if that is an inclination of his behavior to humans, it would send a red flag up for me.
If he is friendly, I like the coloration. I am not good on conformation though so hopefully someone who is can help!

·
Premium Member
15,546 Posts