The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Not sure if I should worry is this bloat? we are massaging his belly and not allowing him to eat more of anything. We are currently bottle feeding 12 oz. 3 times a day dumor milk replacer, 3/4 to 1 cup purina grower daily, free choice hay, fresh water free choice minerals. I guess I should add he is an 8 week old goat we are planning on bottle feeding until 12 weeks. Sorry for silly questions I'm new to goats and dont want to screw up. Any advice?

Attachments

·
Fair-Haven
4,710 Posts
Has he been on replacer the whole time? I would give a baking soda drench and only offer hay, no grain. Electrolyes, no milk for 24 hours. Slowly start back on milk, with a pinch of baking soda in the first bottle. If he is new to replacer I would give whole cows milk - replacers can cause some problems. Take his temp. Has he been given and cocci prevention - have you had a fecal done on him?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Has he been on replacer the whole time? I would give a baking soda drench and only offer hay, no grain. Electrolyes, no milk for 24 hours. Slowly start back on milk, with a pinch of baking soda in the first bottle. If he is new to replacer I would give whole cows milk - replacers can cause some problems. Take his temp. Has he been given and cocci prevention - have you had a fecal done on him?
They have been on replacer for a little over a week switched from mom to replacer slowly increasing replacer. Whole milk from the store? Also I let them out with me in the pasture (didn't let him eat) and he started to run and play as usual. Good sign? Bloated left side seems to be quite a bit less almost same as right side. Thank you I will call a vet and get a check up done!

·
Registered
24 Posts
Should I mix baking soda into their minerals? Or should I put it in another bin?