Help-- Lump on Face

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by PACE, Aug 18, 2008.

1. PACE

PACE New Member

Oct 8, 2007
    Mass
    I am worried about Melino. Yesterday when I went down to feed the goats, I noticed a small bump on the bottom of his jaw. I studied it, felt it, etc. It was solid and didn't seem to cause him any pain. I thought maybe he got stung or something. Then I go down today and the lump has more than doubled in size! It is quite solid feeling, and it still does not bother him when I touch it. It is now the size that I can cup my hand around it and it about fits in my palm (though I have pretty small hands). The things I have considered are: bug bite/sting, splinter, he got knocked by one of the other goats really hard in the face, bottle jaw (though I know almost nothing about it) or some tooth problem (but since it came up so quickly I don't really think it is that). He was wormed 1.5 months ago with Ivermectin horse paste wormer... I looked but cannot see any little puncture or anything, but I know it could be too small to see, especially through the hair. He eats and drinks fine. So what does everyone think? Can I give him anything to help? I don't want to take him to the vet, but certainly will if I can't get it cleared up or if it gets much worse. I have never experienced anything like this before, so any advice is greatly appreciated!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Here's the other side of his face. It is slightly puffy, but not at all like the other side

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

A front view to compare each side

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    Have you tested for CL?

Take a 18 g needle and syringe and see if you can get anything out of it. If it is clear fluid it is salivary gland - if it has any color or thickness - seperate and send in blood and some of the "fluid" or substance.

If I had to guess it is a salivary gland that is blocked due to location.

Is he eating drinking? Any temperature.