Help Needed with Newbie and Urinary Calculi

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by bobb, Sep 20, 2010.

1. bobb

bobb New Member

Sep 20, 2010
    Hello Everyone,

Newbie here who took two goats (Boer and Pygmy) from his friend back in May to save them from the meat grinder. My Boer is 180 lbs and is about 3-4 years old. Last week I noticed he was grinding his teeth and not urinating. Researching online I discovered the Urinary Calculi thing and immediately called the vet. I had previously heard people talking about castrated males being susceptible to this sort of thing, but was under the impression that if I kept him off grains he'd be ok. My ignorance has caused him much pain. Long story short the vet operated on him this Friday....not sure of the technical term for the operation, but he now pees from slightly below his butt. Being in full panic mode I've been trying to learn all about how to treat him with ammonium chloride and am pretty darn confused.

A friend who has goats gave me some AC powder and I ordered more online today. But I haven't found much info on dosing and long term treatment. The dosing recommended by my friend is 1 tablespoon per 20 cc water. I need to doublecheck that tomorrow because that seems high. Anyway, I mixed up some and gave it to my goat with something called a "drencher" syringe. Poor guy reacted like I gave him poison....so I tasted it. Oh my god......AC is the most bitter, acrid, disgusting stuff I've ever tasted.....even worse than motor oil. Here's what I'm confused about:

1. How often do I give him the AC/water mixture....once a day or twice a day?
    2. What is the correct dosage to dissolve existing calculi crystals in his bladder?
    3. Besides dosage, what's the total volume of AC/water mix I should give him daily?
    4. There has to be a better way to make him eat AC besides me squirting it down his throat.....what's the way?