The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I'm studying to be an herbalist, and we were given the choice of any subject to write a paper on, but it needs to be 40+ pages so something we can write in-depth about, and something no other past student has chosen as their topic. Since I am a new goat mom, and no one has covered it before, I chose Herbal Medicine for Goats as my subject! It's not due until August...I figured my goats would probably have some problems for me to experiment with for my paper but honestly besides a little bit of Orf when I first got them (which I treated with cannabis oil topically - not sure how effective it was though it still took about 3 weeks for it to go away), they've been healthy lil babies. Oh and one of mine had a cough of unknown origin which I treated successfully with the TCM formula Ban Xia Hou Po Tang. But I could maybe only get 7 pages out of that so I need more to write about. I figured I'd put my feelers out in this forum!

So, Questions!
What ailments have you had to deal with for your goats?
Which herbal remedies have you tried?
Which herbal remedies have been successful?
Has anyone compared the effectiveness of their herbal remedies with pharmaceuticals from the vet/doing nothing at all?
How did you try/come across these herbal remedies for your goats - was it recommended thru a forum, did you read it in a book, etc?

Thank you so much! <3

·
Registered
Kinder Goat Breeder
3,261 Posts
Very interesting! @NigerianDwarfOwner707 might have some suggestions for you.