Help! sick goat!

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Steff, Aug 3, 2018.

1. Steff

Steff New Member

Jul 11, 2018
    Tonight when I went to check on the goats, my Alpine goat was sick. She has diarrhea and sunken in sides. She won't eat her feed. Usually she comes running up to me as soon as I go into the fence, but tonight she just layed there until I came up to her. She did get up on her feet, but you can tell she is not herself. She was perfectly fine yesterday. I plan to call the vet first thing in the morning, but is there anything I can do meanwhile?

2. 15WildTurkey

15WildTurkey Well-Known Member

Apr 13, 2015
    Is she drinking? I would offer her electrolytes straight away to ward off dehydration. Better advice to follow I’m sure

3. Steff

Steff New Member

Jul 11, 2018
    I am new to goats. I am not sure if she is drinking. She always has water available. Would this be the same electrolytes they give to children? How do you get her to drink it?

4. 15WildTurkey

Apr 13, 2015
    Yes pedialyte would probably work or even Gatorade mixed maybe 50:50. Mine and I think most goats just like it cos it’s sweet but if she isn’t drinking at all you may need to drench her. Do you have a drenching syringe thingy? You could probably use a turkey baster to get it into her. I watched a YouTube before drenching mine.

5. 15WildTurkey

Apr 13, 2015
    Have you seen her poop? Normal or wet? How is her FAMACHA score?

6. Steff

Steff New Member

Jul 11, 2018
    Her whole back end is wet from the diarrhea and there is an oder.

7. Steff

Steff New Member

Jul 11, 2018
    I did not check on her today until it was getting dark. She was dewormed by the vet two months ago, before I brought her on our property. When I got her, the vet said she was healthy, but her coat could improve. At that time it was dull and dry. Now it is softer and shiny. Yesterday she acted perfectly fine, so I was surprised to see her in this condition tonight!

8. 15WildTurkey