The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This doe kidded a single doe last Thursday (her first kidding). Tonight we noticed her udder is larger on one side and a little firmer. The side it is larger on is the side the kid favors. We have to milk her out on the other side because the kid doesn't nurse from that side. The milk on the swollen side is a clearer and thinner in color. The milk on the smaller side is whiter and slightly thicker. The only other thing with this doe is she started to have some bleeding yesterday which I have heard is normal after kidding. The udder is equal temps on both sides not hot or not cold.

Attachments

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Does this look like it is the start of mastitis?

·
Boers & Nubians
1,938 Posts
Could very well be. I am not an expert, but with that much milk for a little single doeling, you need to milk out the tight sides to prevent mastitis. And make sure there is no plug that is restricting the kid from nursing.

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok we are going out to milk her some more now.

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
We milked her out more and it is starting to look a little better. Still a little bigger on the side the kid usually nurses from. She doesn't want us messing a lot with her udder but she has been like that since she developed one so this is not new.

·
Registered
31,508 Posts
keep milking that side out to match the size of the other..as the doe grows she should enjoy both sides for you...in the mean time..keep it even : )

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
keep milking that side out to match the size of the other..as the doe grows she should enjoy both sides for you...in the mean time..keep it even : )