Help!!!

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Jamiestalter, Aug 4, 2013.

1. Jamiestalter

Jamiestalter New Member

Aug 4, 2013
    I am new to raising Pygmys and I think I just made a HUGE mistake. My pygmy is about 2 months old and I went to give his CDT shot. Every where I looked it said 2 cc's and the guy at the store said the same thing. I am still bottle feeding him milk replacer that he was on since I bought him. Today when I went out to feed him he went to take the bottle got a mouth full and backed away and started chewing. It sounds like he is chewing on something gritty. He is still pooping (it was loose blobs instead of like little rabbit poops) and urinating. The sides of his mouth feel almost gritty like a cat tongue but I don't know if that's normal or not. I am not sure if this is just a side effect of the CDT shot or he just ate some funny grass/weeds and he's struggling to digest it because I left him out of the pen to get some munchies. The worst part is I have to leave for 4 days to go to a conference for work but my Fiance (who knows nothing) is staying with him. Please help me!!!

2. happybleats

happybleats Well-Known Member

Sep 12, 2010
    Gustine Texas
    Ok first: Not the CD&T...2 cc is correct....sides of mouth is like a cat tongue...so all good

Him not wanting his bottle and what sound like grinding teeth is a gut issue...
    I would give him C D antitoxin
    Take his temp..should be between 101.5-103.5

3. happybleats

Sep 12, 2010
    Gustine Texas
    How much milk does he get per feeding and how often?
    any chicken feed that he could have gotten into?

too much feed? wet graze? too much milk at one time can all shut down rumen function...

4. Jamiestalter

Jamiestalter New Member

Aug 4, 2013