The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any herbalists out there?

Our kids are due in a couple of weeks and we're trying to find an easy herbal teat wash we can make ourselves. I'm thinking maybe a tea of an anti-microbial herb or some such.

I want to avoid bleach, iodine, and other chemicals. I'm considering the essential oil wash I've found, but would rather use something I can completely grow and make myself.

Thanks!
~Dawn

·
Registered
1,911 Posts
Hmmm, I don't, and have never made, nor used a herbal teat wash that wasn't made with EO's. Here is a cool site with a lot of herbs and spices, with their properties. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5486105/

Makes me kinda want to try it out. Perhaps boiling things such as, oregano, basil, ginger, little bit of garlic, onion, or/and other things. Boil them for a while and let them steep for a while, maybe that could work. I've never done it before, so just a thought. Tempted to try and make some now, just to try it out. I think onions would be great to use. Our neighbor's plant and harvest millions of onions on their farm every year, and welcome us to have some whenever. Only thing I would worry about ginger, garlic, and onion is it may burn. If I try this out, I'll test it on my skin a few times to make sure no burning or stinging occurs. Maybe aloe would be good to add to it as well. Now I'm excited to try and make some!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmmm, I don't, and have never made, nor used a herbal teat wash that wasn't made with EO's. Here is a cool site with a lot of herbs and spices, with their properties. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5486105/