hi from Michigan

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by minigi, Jan 27, 2008.

1. minigi

minigi New Member

Jan 23, 2008
    Hi! I'm pretty new to goats. I decided to get into goats after I had a bad horse accident and required surgery and plates and pins to repair my shoulder. Goats are much smaller and safer! I have had my two does since last May or so and have since fallen in love with my little nigerians and have bought another beautiful mama with two babies. The babies are now about 7-8 months old and a nice buck. I live in a small area where getting a buck to service my does is very difficult, so I took the plunge and bought one. Now he's my hubby's favorite goat. He's the sweetest buck. Hopefully, my three does took to him and we will be having babies in May. Can't wait. I'm hoping to not run into any issues with the birthings. Besides goats, I have two sons, one almost 4 years and my youngest just turned one. And we're expecting another baby early May. I'm a registered nurse and I enjoy reading, cooking/baking, making things with goat milk, exercise, nature and just life in general. Since I'm expecting in May and these are our first babies I'm thing of letting my does dam raise the babies and then start milking them 6-8 weeks after they're born. Hubby is getting the milking machine ready since his hands are too big to milk. He just doesn't have the knack for it. I used to belong to goatweb and found that site very helpful. And since I am such a big worrier I am glad to find another site that seems just as open and welcoming. Thanks! Mary

2. Muddy Creek Farm

Muddy Creek Farm New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Keokuk, Iowa
    Welcome good to have you here!!! I am sure everything will go well with the upcoming kiddings =)

3. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    congratulations on your upcoming child, that is very exciting. :dance:

Welcome to The Goat Spot thanks for sharing a little about yourself.