The Goat Spot Forum banner

Hi from southern california.. few Q's

1276 Views 9 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  jross
Okay first and foremost.. I'd like to introduce myself

My name is Sarah, or sarah jean, which ever is preferred. I'm 20 years old and i live in a little southern california town called Yucaipa.. not many know it exists, but i like the relative quiet.

I've been raising goats for 6 going on 7 years in june. I started with Nigerian dwarf goats, which are miniature dairy goats. I've been through the FFA and 4H programs and i've shown everything.

currently I have a herd of about 20, mostly nigerians, but i do have some Boer goats ( for meat and for fair goats) and lamanchas. I show alot at about 6-10 shows a year.. I really love dairy goats and the yummy milk.

which leads me to my current questions and hopeful venture.

Does anyone have lamanchas as pack goats? I have a doe who is due literally any time ( on baby watch right now).. she's our best show doe and our first good lamancha, currently the only one.. i sold the others and i'm starting over. but her first doe kid is reserved.. so i was thinking of taking a buck kid.. if i get one, and training it to pack.

I usually bottle feed or partially bottle feed my kids anyway, all my animals are CAE and CL negative.

do you start training basics like leading and tying right away? or wait till about a month, or two , or ?
I've been able to train the nigerians to carry small ( 20 pound) packs pretty easily.. but they just can't do it for my needs as a packer, though some people around here like them for little half day things of so

any tips are greatly appreciated..
See less See more
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum :)

We have LaManchas we are training for packing. I love their personalities! We currently have a 3 yr old and a 1 yr old. We just started with packgoats last year so are newbies but from what our LaManchas have shown so far they should be great packers. :)