The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there I'm kind of new to this goat stuff but I seen this big guy for sell down the street from my house and I bought him for $160 buks..but now I just want to know what kind of goat is he??? Lol and was it a good buy?

Goat Goat-antelope Terrestrial animal Working animal Snout

Goat Goat-antelope Horn Natural material Terrestrial animal

Fence Tree Plant Carnivore Dog breed

Attachments

·
4-H Secretary for Life ^.^
985 Posts
My guess is Kiko/Boer Cross. The horns are certainly Kiko, but the roman nose is Boer.
Probably right, Kikos don't have that profile. But the horns are fabulous, probably a cross. The owner would know. One of the first things to do when you want a goat is- do your homework. Then once you buy, ask to see everything. Registration papers (if any), vaccine records, worming records, date of birth, breed, mother, father, etc. Sorry if I got carried away.:doh: I agree with Glockowner, probably a Kiko/Boer cross.:p

·
Registered
3,540 Posts
He's a whole lot prettier than kikos here! I say Savanna as well but he very well could be a kiko/boer cross.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Thank you so much for all the info I'm in love with this guy I named him BIG JOHN I just finished up making a nice goat pin about $1500 Bucks my wife isnt to happy. But hay its my new hobby. I'm hoping to get some nice kids off of him. I will take better pictures this weekend for you guys.

·
Boers & Nubians
1,938 Posts
You will for sure! He's gorgeous :love: He is definitely very meaty, but his price says that he is probably a crossbred. I would say Savanna/Boer :)

·
1,524 Posts
I would guess a Boki of some sort also. I thought the Savanna goats had horns like the Boers, since the Boers figure so heavily in their origins.

Whatever he is...he is GORGEOUS! And what a price! Holy Cow! You are off to a wonderful start on your new hobby!

·
Registered
31,401 Posts