Hind Legs paralyzed in 3-4 month nanny goat

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by jmarcan, Jun 4, 2009.

1. jmarcan

jmarcan New Member

Jun 4, 2009
    I need help. I am new to goat raising. 3 weeks ago I bought a sweet, cute kid goat that appeared healthy. Last week over a two day period her hind legs became useless. I have read that this may be a vitamin B defficiancy or a copper deficiancy. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank You

2. bheila

bheila New Member

Jan 9, 2009
    Kent, Wa
    It might help if you tell us what you feed your goat. Hay, grain, minerals(loose or block)? What kind of vaccines has she had? When was her last shot of BoSe?

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
  4. bheila

bheila New Member

Jan 9, 2009
    Kent, Wa
    It says 3-4 months in the title

5. toth boer goats

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    do you know if ...the wee one ....had a CD&T shot and the booster?

6. jmarcan

jmarcan New Member

Jun 4, 2009
    Hey guys,
    I am feeding her hay, the recommended amount of southern states sweet feed, hay, block minerals and water and as a treat honey suckles. She is probably closer to for months old. She has had her CDT shot and I in my newness I don't know what BoSo is, help with that. Thank you guys for responding and trying to help me figure out this mystery........Joy

7. MissMM

MissMM New Member

Oct 22, 2007
    McGregor, MN
  8. toth boer goats

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    :doh: :help: sorry

I agree with MissMM..............it could very well be white muscle disease......I purchase bo-se at my vets office...they can tell you the proper dosage for sure.....I would give that as soon as possible with vit/E ..........they need that .........to be able to absorb the selenium........... :hug:

9. Thanatos

Thanatos New Member

Mar 16, 2009
    Lake Ariel, Pa