The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im just learning how to trim my goats hooves by watching YouTube videos and things like that. They don't have bad hooves and the breeder showed me a little how to do it but 1 if mine is pretty old and has really blocky hooves. They are really tough and its like they are curved kinda (ill post a pic soon). I even tried putting her hoof in a bucket of water for a little while before i tried to trim it to try to get it softer and it just ended up smelling horrible lol.

The rest are pretty young and i have only trusted myself to trim the hoof wall part so far on them. It was easy doing the first few young ones because i didnt have to do much and the trimmers were new but when i got to the older doe it was pretty hard.

I have the green handle kind from tractor supply and someone even recommend them, but i think they are too dull. They won't really clip the hoof itself really good but they are fine for just the wall. Am i doing it wrong or am i supposed to sharpen them? I probably do have to sharpen them but how? Is it like sharpening a pocket knife? And after a few goats it started to get stuck every now and then, like when you are using a bad pair of scissors to cut paper and instead of cutting, one side of it goes on one side of the paper and the other on the other side and they are fully closed ( very bad illustration lol ) and they won't open very easy when that happens. They are brand new and the guy said to be careful because they are really really sharp. Should i get a new pair? Any suggestions?

·
Registered
179 Posts