Horse people! UPDATE with pics :)

Discussion in 'Other Pets' started by keren, Mar 8, 2010.

1. keren

keren owned by goats

Oct 26, 2008
    Australia
    This is kinda long, please stick with me :D

Well I was horse crazy as a little girl but never did get a pony or learn to ride. For the last 8 years I have had some experience working with them, handling them, feeding and breeding, but never riding. But, the last six months I have learned how to ride and now I'm addicted!

Sooooooooo to make a long story short I would really like a horse of my own. And I'd like some tips as to what I should do when looking at a horse to buy, because I found a local one that sounds pretty good, and I'd like to go have a look tomorrow afternoon.

The horse (pony actually) I am going to look at is a 25 year old gelding. He is 13.2 hands, a paint, not sure what breed. He comes with all the gear, saddles, bridles, rugs, jumps, grooming gear, the lot, which is a HUGE plus for me. The lady said he was fantastic for her kids and their friends to ride but now they have 'gone in another direction' so I guess the kids have lost interest.

I know being a novice I need an old, experienced, bomb proof horse. But is 25 too old? And I dont want a plodder, although I'm most likely just going to be riding him gently on a trail ride 2 - 3 times a week, I still want one that can get up and go, if you know what I mean. That is happy to trot and even canter a little without me having to push and push and push. Get my drift?

I learned to ride on a 14.2 horse, but I'm only 4'9" and I'm thinking 13.2 is an ok size for me. I also have 6 nephews who would love to learn how to ride so I'm thinking this will be a good size for them as well - their mother had a 16 hh horse for a while and he was just too big for them to control on their own - fine on a lead line but that was all. I'm thinking with this 13.2 pony they will be able to learn to ride properly.