The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So with the temps rising to almost 90 for the next 4 days I'm starting to wonder what to for my girls this summer. Where I live it's not uncommon for us to have 90 and 100 degree days regularly in the summer.

Should I clip them? I've heard people suggest it because it can prevent heat stroke but then say they'll be more bothered by bugs.. I do treat for flys on my farm so they're not bad. And, I use fly spray and could bathe them in citronella shampoo to help but, I'm new to goats and not sure that's a good plan.

What does everybody else do in the summer?

·
Registered
469 Posts
For our horse and goats, we clip under the throat down their neck and chest to expose the jugular and let them lose heat from there, and we also clip the belly, since that area also sheds lots of heat, and we spray them with an insect repellant if the horseflies are harassing them too much. They also have access to lots of shade and cool water. If it gets really hot around noontime we spray their necks and chest with the hose. I've never had any problems with heatstroke and our summer temps are regularly 110 with super high humidity.

·
Goatless goat momma
7,838 Posts
I've never heard of clipping goats until I joined this forum. living in Barbados, it's always hot here. goes from hot in the "winter" to humid, hot and sticky in the "summer/fall". even when it's super hot here, I've never seen any goats get clipped.....

my girls get hot some days, but I try to keep them where there's shade, but so far on really hot days, they get a bucket of ice water. they LOVE it! even tries to eat the ice. also to note that my girls have their horns.

·
Registered
469 Posts
I guess I should've added that all of my goats are disbudded. I would say that shade and cool water makes the biggest difference for them though.

·
Boer Lover 4 Life!
2,979 Posts