How Big?

Discussion in 'Barnyard Bananza' started by Iceblink, Mar 30, 2009.

1. Iceblink

Iceblink New Member

Dec 5, 2008
    Ok, I am new to everything goat, and am wondering how big a goat 'barn' needs to be. I plan to have two nigerian dwarf does, and alternate their breeding schedules, so the maximum total would be 2 adults (long term), 1-3 kids (short term).

I would like to build one big building for both goats and chickens and have a wall divider with the chicken run on the opposite side as the goat area.

I want them to have enough room to stay inside if they want in the winter, but small enough that it could stay warm.

I have a separate area for supplies, milking, ect.

Should I build a seperate pen for the doe and kid(s) even if there is only one other doe?

Oh, and one more question: is the ventilation like a chicken coop, cross ventilation up high, and no drafts, or is there a different way to do it that is better for goats?

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    welcome!

I would build a common area that is 6x6 or 8x8 and yes ventilation is as you discribed.

Plan to have the devider between chickens and goats be a full wall because the chickens will fly over into the goats section. They can cohabitate but if that is the case make sure the goats cant get to the chickens food and that chickens cant poop in the goats water

a kidding stall may or may not be necessary. I would plan on it though and see if it works into your design. With just two goats they usualy do fine kidding in their common area.

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    welcome........Iceblink... :wave: ...so happy you are here.....I have to agree with stacey..... :wink:

4. Iceblink

Iceblink New Member

Dec 5, 2008
    Thank you. That is actually smaller than I was thinking, but smaller is better, so great.