The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! This is my first time using this app and I’m hoping some people can help me. My herd is made up of six at the moment. There are 4 babies and one of them is less than a month old. We are expecting the temperature to drop to about -8 Fahrenheit. How should I handle this? Should I temporarily lock them in their shed so that the wind doesn’t hit them? Maybe feed them in their instead of spreading it around their pen? I’ll probably bottle feed the babies warm milk but, besides that, what should I do?

Attachments

·
Registered
Goat Mentor
7,391 Posts
How should I handle this? Should I temporarily lock them in their shed so that the wind doesn't hit them?
How big is their shelter? What type is it?

They need deep bedding of straw, and to stay out of heavy drafts and wind.
Maybe feed them in their instead of spreading it around their pen?
Goat feed should never be spread on the ground.
I'll probably bottle feed the babies warm milk but, besides that, what should I do?
Are they already bottle babies or are they dam raised?

·
Premium Member
4,675 Posts
Hi! This is my first time using this app and I'm hoping some people can help me. My herd is made up of six at the moment. There are 4 babies and one of them is less than a month old. We are expecting the temperature to drop to about -8 Fahrenheit. How should I handle this? Should I temporarily lock them in their shed so that the wind doesn't hit them? Maybe feed them in their instead of spreading it around their pen? I'll probably bottle feed the babies warm milk but, besides that, what should I do?
If the kids are not bottle fed already no sense in doing that. Their dam will take care of the warm milk part. And gettin month old kids to take a bottle when they are not used to it.... good luck with that cause it is most likely not happening. ;). Esp when the milk buffet is right there wi5h them.

·
Registered
176 Posts