The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It is my first time showing a goat. I'm showing in a county fair and I will be showing one of my dairy mixbreed kids. Is there a certain collar you need to use? And what do the judges look for? :whatgoat:

·
Amber
1,339 Posts
Sorry I have been busy today so not online alot!

When training my goats for shows I use a pronged chain. It helps out alot. They tend to walk better with it.

I have boers so not sure if the same rules apply to dairy breeds or not.
As far as during the show people use either a pronged chain or just the regular chain. Either one you choose is fine

·
Registered
2,544 Posts
Are you talking dairy goat or boer? They show differently.
it is difficult to describe. There are you tube videos you can watch.
Walk on the goats left side. We use a show chain. When told to line up, you will line up either beside or behind the goat next to you. Here is where they differ. We do market boers -make their feet square under them, and then push with your knee into their brisket to make them "brace" or "drive".

·
Registered
4,162 Posts
I have yet to see a pronged collar in dairy showing.

I like to use the chain collar.
It's just a plain chain with a ring on each side..

The judges like when you are calm and confident so try not to freak out even though it's your first time:)
Not quite sure what else to tell you.
You know how to set them up, correct?

Also, keep the goat Inbetween you and the judge at all times and DO NOT go behind the goat when switching sides, always go in front..

·
Boers & Nubians
1,938 Posts
I can help you a little. I know how to show a dairy goat, but have no experience with it (I am a market goat person).

You will need to get a show-chain or something similar. Many use dog chains or plastic links, but you get the idea.