How do you decide who is a keeper?

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by redsticker, May 9, 2009.

1. redsticker

redsticker Member

May 7, 2009
    SE Louisiana
    I know that there are a ton of factors when it comes to keeping one kid and not another, like great parents, great coloring, etc. But when I see kids for sale on websites, and they talk about show quality versus pet quality, is it just experience that helps you know who to snatch up?

I guess a better way to put it... How can you tell the future conformation of goat kid when they are so small and wobbly? :question:

2. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    That's SUCH a hard question!
    conformation would mainly come from the dam and sire of the kid...but there are always variables..these kids can look totally different week by week. I guess most of it is experience. I'm still learning the standards.
    that probably didnt help much...LOL :)

3. Epona142

Epona142 The farm that Hope began

May 25, 2008
    Madisonville, TX
    For me, its sort of a process.

First is confirmation. We wouldn't hold back any goat with major flaws.
    Second is size, we would want to hold back a goat that appears to be growing to conform to the size standards we want.
    Third is temperament. Most goats when raised right are sweet, but sometimes you find better temperaments than others.
    Forth is little certain things. One, as an example, is ear structure. Some of my does have less than perfect ears, so I would want to hold back goats that have good ears like their sire.
    Last of all is color, since its really least important, but I do enjoy having lots of colors!

4. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ