How do you restrain a kid to vaccinate?

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by rebelshope, Apr 9, 2009.

1. rebelshope

rebelshope New Member

Sep 20, 2008
    Wisconsin
    Yup, that is basically my question: How do you restrain a kid to vaccinate?

I am having a hard time doing it myself. I am not sure how to hold the kid, pinch the skin, and inject?

2. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    If I am by myself, then I sit down on the stand, put them across my lap, kind of wrapping them around me so I have them under both arms, and hold them that way. They do not more.

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    I basically do it like Lori.... :wink:

Of course......... it is alot easier .....with 2 people... :greengrin:

4. rebelshope

rebelshope New Member

Sep 20, 2008
    Wisconsin
    part of my problem is that I am not really good at it yet either so it is twice as hard.

5. Thanatos

Thanatos New Member

Mar 16, 2009
    Lake Ariel, Pa
    Goat in lap, goat head under arm, reach over grab front leg armpit skin with arm holding the head, then with other hand give shot. if you got 2 then its way easy. one hold one shoot.

6. RunAround

RunAround New Member

Feb 17, 2008
    Massachusetts
    I put the head between my legs like I'm a human milk stand. (Nice metal image there.) :ROFL:

7. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I do as Lori says. I had to do it for the first time on my own and I dont do CD/T shots real well, it went so well I felt real good about it

8. Epona142

Epona142 The farm that Hope began

May 25, 2008
    Madisonville, TX
    First, I lure my husband outside with the promise of something nice to eat. You know, a bit of sweetstuff right?

Then I gradually get him into the goat pen. Patience is key! Husbands will bolt if you startle them.