The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to showing (other than my past 4-H experience), and I plan on going to a few open shows next year.

I noticed while at My State Fair this year that all of the Doe's Udders were !HUMONGOUS! I talked to a couple people and they said that you have to over fill them for showing.

My question is how long do they need to be filled? Just an average time I know it would depend on stage of lactation and things like that. And isn't that kind of cheating? If that's not how your goat walks around normally than why would you make it look different?

Not trying to stir up any problems I was just honestly curious :)

·
Registered
1,261 Posts
I was under the impression that there is a "milk out" time that everyone has to milk their does out and then the show is 12 hours later? Someone can correct me if I'm wrong....:D

·
~Crazy Goat Lady~
29,202 Posts
I was under the impression that there is a "milk out" time that everyone has to milk their does out and then the show is 12 hours later? Someone can correct me if I'm wrong....:D
Some shows do that, others don't. Most around here don't.
I fill for about 14hrs for a show :)

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That sounds better :) One of my friends showed at State and went to milk out the night before and the exhibitor who won literally everything, told her that she shouldn't do that because the udder wouldn't be full enough so she was insinuating that my friends doe needed to show on a 24 hr. fill.

·
~Crazy Goat Lady~
29,202 Posts
Some does need to fill longer then others... I milk mid/late afternoon on the day before a show, instead of 7:30/8 like normal... I don't know... I think the most would be an 18/19hr fill.. For me anyway.... Just seems like a lot to fill 24.. Not to mention your production will go down...