The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really would love to get two goats but I am limited greatly on money. I can get them for free, seeing as I only want them for pets and eating ivy and other weeds. I can also get the housing and fencing free.
My questions are:
How much does it cost to feed them? How about in the winter?
What other costs do I have to worry about?

·
Registered
2,204 Posts
Depends how your feeding
Mine get pelit and hay all year around.
Everyone does something different.

Really neutra drench and vet Rx and the only meds I say you HAVE to have. I also suggest having electrolytes on hand. If I need something we go to our feed store and get it.
Everything else I get as I need.
I always see these lists people on here tell people what they need and I have less than a quarter of it. *shrugs* I'm in my 3rd year of goats.
But your gunna need to trim their hooves. And have really good fencing. Also have toys for them to play with or they will make a mess.

·
Registered
355 Posts
biggest thing you should think about if you are getting them as pets... how friendly they are and if they are free of CL, CAE and Johnes Disease free herd. Free is not always cheep :)

·
Registered
10,787 Posts
I have spent a lot on mine already and still lost two. The sulmet alone was 70 dollars, I have spent a lot on feed and wormer, hoof trimmers but that is a one time purchase, nice durable feed pans, fencing, gates, gate fasteners, mineral blocks, loose minerals, probiotics, electrolytes, (I used Gatorade) brushes, I already had the little shed they stayed in, and the barn Daffodil is staying in right now. Vet visit was almost 70. I think if you do it right you should expect some expense. Just like caring for any animal. They need what they need, and they can't drive themselves to the store and get it, we have to take care of them. If we get them, that is our responsibility.

·
558 Posts