How much is enough?

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by thephatlady, Aug 26, 2009.

1. thephatlady

thephatlady Guest

Jul 28, 2009
    This is my first time milking my two and a half yo.ff nubens.They both seem to be loosing weight.I feed them two flakes of good quality alfalfa a day to share and three cops of four way grain each.I also give each of them half a pound of chaffhay a day. they are on a weekly herbal wormer.Should I be feeding more? If so more of what?We don't realy have any place for them to browse. I am milking once a day and getting just under a quart each. Is that an ok amount? Thanks!!

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    Sounds a little low for milk production but if they arent from strong milking lines or at peak productio that could explain the low output.

as to their condition -- I cant say if they are to skinny or not without a picture but do remember that does in milk are putting the energy into milking and not into their own body

3. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    For Nubians I would think that they are getting enough, do you have a good quality mineral available for them too?

As far as the amount of milk you are getting, a quart does not sound like much from even a FF Nubi.....how long have they been in milk?
    For grain, I go by "a pound for the doe and a pound for each pound of milk she produces" if you go by this, your does would be getting 3 pounds of grain as that is 1 for her and 2 for the 2lbs of milk.

You may need to have a fecal run to see if the herbal is working, if not then your vet can tell you which chemical wormer would be best for your area.

4. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ