How often should I check her?

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by morganslil1, Mar 4, 2008.

1. morganslil1

morganslil1 New Member

Nov 12, 2007
    north carolina
    How often should I check daisy? She had a little more colostrum leaking this morning and if she took on her eariler heat she would be due march 11th. Her sides near her hips are sunk in a bit and I cant find her ligs...they may be there but I cant find them shes rather mushy near her tail head...

2. sparks879

sparks879 New Member

are you sure on that due date? What breed is she?
    beth

3. morganslil1

morganslil1 New Member

Nov 12, 2007
    north carolina
    Right now Im not sure of any thing... :hair: I originally thought she would be due april17th but now Im wondering if she didnt have a false heat going by the heat before that she would be due march 11th. This is my first year with goats.She was running with the buck.She is a saanen.

4. Sara

Sara New Member

Oct 4, 2007
    Ellensburg, WA
    This may be me being paranoid, but I'd check her every two hours during the day.

5. Di

Di Crazy Goat Lady

Jan 29, 2008
    central PA
    Do you have a baby monitor in your barn? I'll tell you, it was the best $35.00 I've spent in awhile. That way I could hear what was going on in the kidding stalls. I put it in early on, that way I learned to tell what was "normal" noise and what should be checked out. That said, I was waking up every two hours at night for the last 10 days, because I was so freaked out thinking "something" was going to happen when I was sleeping. I'm not sure if that changes with experience. I'm a newbie too.

I actually only had one doe kid in the dark. Lucky me. I lost one of those 2 kids, found the other cold and wet and weak, but alive. I'm so lucky Izzy just had quads during the day. She had them so fast I'm sure she would not have been able to get them all cleaned up before they suffocated!