How to brace a market goat: HELP ME

Discussion in '4H/FFA Corner' started by awedd, Jan 27, 2013.

1. awedd

awedd Abbie Weddle

Jan 27, 2013
    Eastern Oklahoma
    Hello! I'm fairly new to the world of FFA and livestock shows, and I'm looking for some tips on bracing my goat. I've got a market goat, and my first show's in mid February. I'm not entirely sure how to brace, and I can't find much on the web. If anyone's got any links to good videos that help, that'd be great! I'd love some tips in the comments and photos would be excellent as well. Thanks everyone!

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

3. crocee

crocee New Member

Jul 25, 2008
    Northeast Arkansas
    Youtube should also have a selection of setup type videos.

4. caprine crazy

caprine crazy Boer Lover 4 Life!

Jun 12, 2012
    Eminence, IN
    I know a few members on here that show Boer wethers and would be willing to help you out. I would love to here what they have to say because I have wondered this myself.

5. parkinsonfarms

parkinsonfarms Senior Member

May 10, 2011
    Maysville, Missouri
    Personally I've never braced but it's almost exactly like bracing a sheep. Ill try to find a picture for you.

Sent from my iPhone using GoatSpot.

6. parkinsonfarms

May 10, 2011
    Maysville, Missouri
    Found these on google.

Hope they help

Attached Files:

7. HoosierShadow

HoosierShadow Senior Member

Apr 19, 2010
    Central Kentucky
    I found this thread, thought it might help:

http://www.thegoatspot.net/forum/f205/how-get-your-goat-brace-push-131051/

My kids are doing a market wether this year, and they need to learn how to brace as well. I've seen it done while we were at the shows, but actually teaching the goats to do it will be real....interesting lol