How to get goat to eat supplement

Discussion in 'Meat Market' started by E Roberts, May 27, 2019.

1. E Roberts

E Roberts New Member

Jun 10, 2018
    sweetwater texas
    So show season is coming up in Texas and i've got my wether and hes doing well, learning to walk and brace but, i recently got the purina high octane champion drive topdress. Smell awful, i'm not sure if i would recommend cause i've never used this supplement before, but my wether doesn't like it at all and when i put it in his feed he doesn't even eat his feed. does anyone have any ideas on how to get him to start eating it??? please really need help he has to gain 23 pounds to make weight. if u have any ideas please reply, thanks-emily may 27, 2019

Nigerian dwarf goat likes this.
  2. NigerianDwarfOwner707

NigerianDwarfOwner707 Well-Known Member

May 17, 2018
    East Coast, USA
    I sneak anything and everything into applesauce. With some slippery elm too, covers up strong smells.

3. Sfgwife

Sfgwife Well-Known Member

Feb 17, 2018
    North Cakalaki

What about calf manna? That is good for puttin on weight.

4. E Roberts

E Roberts New Member

Jun 10, 2018
    sweetwater texas
    thanks i might try that

5. mariarose

mariarose Well-Known Member

The show world simply befuddles me. I never have anything helpful to say. But @HoosierShadow can usually help?

Madgoat likes this.
  6. HoosierShadow

HoosierShadow Senior Member

Apr 19, 2010
    Central Kentucky
    I pm'd you back Emily! But wanted to add here as well.

I've not used the Champion drive topdress, I'll ask a friend if they've used that one and any issues. Not sure how it should smell or what the texture is.
    The only Purina supplement we've used is Power Fuel, and that has helped get some gain on some of our goats. We normally don't topdress.