How to increase butterfat and lower protein?

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by rssgnl27, Mar 18, 2018.

1. rssgnl27

rssgnl27 Member

May 8, 2012
    Upstate New York
    I had my milk tested last season and the protein came back higher than butterfat. I'm pretty new to the whole milk testing thing, so I wanted to know how to invert those numbers. Last year my does were fed second cut grass hay at night (about 5 flakes between 8 of them, they're Nigerians), pasture/browse during the day (includes access to woods and grass pasture), Blue Seal Caprine Challenger (about 3 cups each while they were milking), DuraFerm ConceptAid Goat Mineral (free choice), sodium bicarb (free choice).

In addition to that, can someone give me a basic low-down on what ideal milk protein/fat/SCC (etc.) counts are. The only "ideal" counts I can find online are for cows milk.

I really only use the milk for consumption for myself, but I want to be well informed and it seems to me that if there is an imbalance of milk levels that it may be nutritionally linked.

2. TexasGoatMan

TexasGoatMan Well-Known Member

Jul 3, 2015
    Dekalb, Texas
    Good feed will increase the amount of milk production and that in itself will product more butterfat. Now the protein is another deal. Good luck on that !

3. rssgnl27

rssgnl27 Member

May 8, 2012
    Upstate New York
    What would you change in my feed program to increase that butterfat? Take the off pasture and feed good quality second cut hay, add alfalfa cubes/pellets?

4. TexasGoatMan

TexasGoatMan Well-Known Member

Jul 3, 2015
    Dekalb, Texas