I milked her...now what?

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by goatsinmississippi, Jun 19, 2013.

1. goatsinmississippi

goatsinmississippi New Member

Jun 19, 2013
    Hello! If my title doesn't give it away, I'm a newbie to the herd :) My partner and I just got two Alpine nannies (one is a first freshener and got milked for the first time today). So, the first time I milked her was this morning. She hadn't been emptied or anything since sometime yesterday; she was nursing a few kids from her herd. So, the goal for the morning was to get her used to the milking process (remind me to tell you that story later) and I didn't bother trying to collect any of it. Tonight, however, I got about a quart. My partner and his friend brought it inside and tasted it (too brave for me). It looked really thick--I mean THICK--and then we just stuck it in the freezer. What's one to do with the milk to make it drinkable? Yes, I know some of the braver bunch opt to drink it raw, but I'm too much of a wuss for it. I started looking at pasteurization and filtering, and I don't know the difference between the two! My ultimate goal is to have milk I can cook with and that my friends will want (no, not selling it), make butter, cheese, and soaps. I'll be doing everything from home, and would rather not purchase any fancy equipment. I have a gas stove and an eager mind. Okay, I'm ready to be learned!

2. Texaslass

Texaslass New Member

May 15, 2013
    Welcome to the forum!First of all, please do not be turned off by raw milk. A lot of people have wrong notions about it tasting horrible and so on- its not true!