I need help!!!!!!’

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by breannaballew, Dec 15, 2017.

1. breannaballew

breannaballew New Member

Dec 15, 2017
    Arkansas
    I’m new to having a goat. Recently I was given a beautiful Nigerian dwarf male. This week I found out he has Urinary Calculi. I took him to the vet immediately (the only one in our area that sees them) and he drained his bladder and snipped off the tip of his manhood. He also gave him an anti inflammatory shot. Yesterday we went back were he did an ultrasound and drained his bladder again, another anti inflammatory shot, and he filled his bladder partially with vinager by injection to break down stones. None of our local vets have ammonium chloride and neither did he. I had to order it online and it should be shipped in today and I’m needing help with the dosage. He was born August 9th and weighs 13lbs! He has had a bit of urine leak today and it’s finally not bloody, as it was when he first started dripping, but still no steady stream. I am giving him aspirin to help with pain as I found dosing instructions through the vet, but I need to get the ammonium going to get him flushed. The vet said if he doesn’t start peeing completely normal he will have to be put down bc there’s nothing else he can do. Please help me! We love him so much and we’re trying everything! I just want him back to his happy self, he just lays around and when he gets up to eat he keeps his back legs kind of still and stitches his tail from pain. The aspirin does help this!

2. Suzanne_Tyler

Suzanne_Tyler GreenTGoats

Jul 19, 2014
    US
    Glad you were able to diagnose and get him to the vet. UC is a fast killer if not caught in time. You are doing great :)

What exactly are you feeding him?

If he's your only goats I would recommend getting another. Goats get lonely and depressed when alone.

I'm not sure on the AC dose.

breannaballew and Kath G. like this.

3. Kath G.

Kath G. Well-Known Member

Jul 13, 2017
    Wisconsin