I'm a newbie, Hi all

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Coyote Night Acres, Dec 27, 2010.

1. Coyote Night Acres

Coyote Night Acres New Member

Dec 26, 2010
    Missouri
    Hi, everyone
    I'm new to the goat spot. Well kinda, I've been lurking on here for months soaking up all the information I could. I finally decided it was time to register to be a member. We got our first dairy goat back in the spring of this year and have added more so we now have a good herd of 11 dairy goats. Most are registered lamanchas (We're planning to start showing next year) We have one registered alpine (she was the first) and two saanen alpine mix doe's for milk. Anyway we got bit by the bug for sure. Before the goats we had a small herd of sheep. I loved the sheep, but hated the shearing. We sold the sheep after a tragic loss of my best ewe in the herd. She was really more like a goat in nature. She was dam raised, but in your pocket wanting scratchings all the time. She would lay by your feet and chew her cud, we were so bonded that it crushed me when she died. She got frothy bloat and it went so fast, I tried to save her but I wasn't quick enough. We sold the rest of the herd because it just wasn't the same without her. None of the others were anything like her, even though I gave treats and all they were still spooks. The goats are all sweet and friendly like my ewe was and a plus no shearing. January will be our first kidding ever, I'm a little nervouse but have educated myself very well with this site and have the breeders number an premission to call any hour of the night. Oh and I'm absolutely obsessed about bloat now, I don't want anything to happen to my goats so I watch them closely.

:wave:

2. pelicanacresMN

pelicanacresMN New Member