I'm a ost kidding newbie...

Discussion in 'Waiting Room' started by Nommie Bringeruvda Noms, Mar 18, 2020.

1. Nommie Bringeruvda Noms

Nommie Bringeruvda Noms Member

Nov 7, 2019
    MO
    And stuck in 'deer-in-the-headlights' mode! Please be gentle, this was NOT how we planned this to go down. Life has happened, and it threw a monkey wrench into everything we'd planned.
    I've got 2 Nigora does (mother and daughter), both probably expecting in mid-May to early June. The mother is a GREAT mama, the daughter is a first timer, and I am entirely unprepared for them. As in: I got NUTTIN. With this blasted virus going around, almost all our available funds for this got redirected, and I don't know what to do/get/have on hand, or how to prioritize it. Please pretend you have a barn with 2 stalls, a pair of well-fed, happy, freshly copper-bolused, expecting does, and nothing else. What do I need, and how should I prioritize it, please?

Moers kiko boars likes this.
  2. Nommie Bringeruvda Noms

Nov 7, 2019
    MO
    Apparently, I'm so lost, I lost the L in my title!

3. jschies

jschies Well-Known Member

Aug 14, 2014
    iodine for dipping the cords after birth, molasses for the doe, selenium

4. Nommie Bringeruvda Noms

Nov 7, 2019
    MO
    Thank you! Molasses? Is blackstrap ok? How much (they're small - maybe 45lbs, normal weight), how often, & (please) why?
    Equipment needed? Towels for drying/ warming them, if needed, sterile shears for cutting the cords?

Moers kiko boars likes this.
  5. SalteyLove

SalteyLove Well-Known Member

Jun 18, 2011
    New England
    Selenium, if nothing else, get selenium. What do they get for minerals besides the copper bolus? Selenium can be had in Replamin Plus paste, Selenium/E gel, Bo-Se injection , or MultiMin90 injection. Those last two are Rx.

6. Nommie Bringeruvda Noms

Nov 7, 2019
    MO