Injection lump??

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Steph, Jun 3, 2009.

1. Steph

Steph Senior Member

May 7, 2009
    PA
    I have a wether that had a lump when we got him in April and the breeder said it was from getting an injection. It's been 2 months and he still has the lump. We also have a buckling that got a lump after we gave him his CD/T. I am new to the shot giving and just wanted to make sure we are doing it right. Should we do anything with the wethers lump? Thanks!

2. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    That is pretty common. I have several goats with lumps for the CDT shot.

What brand of CDT do you have? Colorado or Bar Vac? My vet finally believes me that the Bar Vac serum seems to leave a lump more then the Colorado Serum.

There is really nothing you can do about them. i did have a vet lance it and drain it but it really did not help, so what I do is rub the heck out of the injection site after I give the shot. I do that for about 1 minute.

3. Steph

Steph Senior Member

May 7, 2009
    PA
    Thanks Lori! We have the Bar Vac. We have 4 babies we bought and none were given shots before we bought them. They are 4 months old now. We gave them their first CD/T on May 17. Should we give it again in 21 days? I wish I had found TGS sooner. You all have so much information and I am finding it so helpful. I have never had goats or any type of farm animal before (my husband has had beef cattle and pigs in the past). One day I just decided I want goats, no idea what possessed me. So here I am trying to learn all I can about my little goaties!

I feel so bad that little Rhett has a lump. I will rub the injection site more next time. The other 3 don't have any lumps.

Thanks again for the advice Lori!

Steph

4. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas