The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to goats so I need some help with one of my goats. My goat has a superficial wound on its right front leg that has been partially scabbed over. I rescued this goat and it's sibling from a neglect situation and it came with the wound. The goat keeps reopening the wound by scratching and biting. This wound has been on the goat for around 1 month. We are treating it with antibiotic creams, wound cleaning sprays, and using Alusheild and vet wrap to cover it. The goat keeps getting the Alusheild and wraps off. I really need some help in figuring out how to successfully heal the wound. All suggestions are welcome!

·
Premium Member
4,675 Posts
Hi, I'm new to goats so I need some help with one of my goats. My goat has a superficial wound on its right front leg that has been partially scabbed over. I rescued this goat and it's sibling from a neglect situation and it came with the wound. The goat keeps reopening the wound by scratching and biting. This wound has been on the goat for around 1 month. We are treating it with antibiotic creams, wound cleaning sprays, and using Alusheild and vet wrap to cover it. The goat keeps getting the Alusheild and wraps off. I really need some help in figuring out how to successfully heal the wound. All suggestions are welcome!
It is a true wound or is it on the knees? Goats will get what you might think a sc on their knees from the way they lay. Have you checked for mites or lice since it is scratching?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The goats do have lice, which is irritating the wound. It is a true wound above her knees that bleeds and is scabbing. I’ll try to get a picture of it

·
Registered
6,063 Posts
For the lice, you can use Ivermec 1cc per 22 lbs topically like you would use advantage on a dog (Down the topline) Since he/she is really itchy try some bendryl .

·
Registered
30,638 Posts