The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
899 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have only one goat with wattles and I just noticed that one of them was hard and crusty. The other one is normal, pliable, etc. I took her temp and it was normal, 102.8. I also handled the wattle and it did not seem to be painful to her.

I am wondering what this could be. My suspicion is mosquito bites or a spider bite, but I have no experience with this. I wiped the whole surface of her wattle with an alcohol swab. What else should I do?

·
Registered
30,622 Posts
could you take a picture of it?..sometimes waddles get whats called a waddle cyst..they are harmless but can get pretty big..but if it burst could cause the waddle to be crusty from dried goop...have you seen any lump on it at all? a small one might go unnoticed if its near the top. i would give it a good cleaning and look closely , see if there was a cyst that burst...waddle cyst normally return even when lanced..I have several goats with waddles and only ever had one buck with a cyst..again..they are harmless ...not at all CL ;)

·
Registered
899 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't know that a pic would help much. It looks completely normal, no swelling or anything. I wouldn't have noticed except I was loving on her and petting her. It wouldn't show in a pic, but there was crusted matter beneath the hair on the wattle. I tried to find a source of the crust but could not. It is normal looking but when squeezed is very hard.

·
Registered
5,558 Posts
That does sound like a waddle cyst to me. I had been meaning to talk about that on here sometime; we had a doeling that was born with waddle cysts. It was a little disturbing at first, though I got used to it. Sometimes I would try to squeeze them out a little when they got big, but it seemed to hurt her, and I was hoping they would go away, but they never did. :(

It seems strange to me that they don't go away. :shrug: