The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm a dog trainer & breeder in South Carolina. I breed working Central Asian Shepherd Dogs for livestock guarding & personal protection. My co-breeder also breeds Nubian goats & a few Saanens. We also assist in fostering, evaluating, & transporting for Anatolian Shepherd rescue & Central Asian Shepherd rescue. She just gave me two bucks (they will be castrated in due time) that I am raising as pets & as puppy training goats so I can better evaluate my litters for livestock guardian work without having to drive them all the way to her farm. I'm also an avid backpacker & have been taking my dogs with me for years. They carry all of their own food, water, & gear & even earn trail dog titles. As a trainer & a backpacker, I naturally would like my goat boys to come along sometimes, too. Currently, Leroy Jenkins, a Nubian/Saanen cross, is 1 month old, & Fred, a Nubian, is almost 2 weeks old, so it will be awhile. At the moment they are still learning their way around the place & getting to know my guardian dogs, who are just loving having babies of their very own to protect from the coyotes & roaming dogs in the area. So for the time being I am here to learn about training, conditioning, gear, & safety.

Off to peruse the various threads!

~~Anna and Co.
Thunder Mountain Central Asian Shepherd Dogs
Working Livestock Guardian Dogs & Personal Protection Dogs
https://www.facebook.com/ThunderMountai ... epherdDogs

·
Registered
847 Posts
Hi CASDOG,

Welcome to the forum. I haven't been able to be here much lately... a lot going on. I always thought LGD was Large Guard Dog but recently discovered that it was Livestock Guarding Dog, although I can't imagine why you would use the livestock to guard the dog.

It is kind of like the signs on the street that says "Slow children playing". If I had slow children I am not sure I would advertise it on the street.