is 6 months too young?

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by milk and honey, Oct 31, 2010.

1. milk and honey

milk and honey Senior Member

Oct 30, 2010
    Everett, WA
    I have 2 registered nigi does , one is a yearling and bred, the other is 6
    months old. I would like to breed her soon so I'm not in 'newborns' all summer long. She is healthy, friendly and will soon be on Molly's herbal products as well. I have found a small buck who is also willing and able.
    Any comments?
    Oh, I am also new to goats and new to this forum!
    Thanks
    Heidi

2. SDK

SDK New Member

Jun 26, 2008
    Yucaipa ca
    I think that's too young.. i'd rather leave her dry next year than push her to have babies beforshe's mature enough to

3. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    I completely agree. ;)

4. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    6 months is too young IMO....I like to wait til they are a year or a bit older to breed the first time, definately gives them more chance to grow up themselves.

5. K-Ro

K-Ro New Member

Oct 13, 2007
    Texas
    I agree with what was said above.

6. milk and honey

Oct 30, 2010
    Everett, WA
    Thanks so much for experienced opinions... my vet had checked out the girls and said "go ahead and breed her" but I am going to re-think my plans... Are kidding problems what is possibly aniticipated?
    I have heard "comparison stories that said 7 mo breeding and 1 year ...
    there was no difference" ?? but my plans are not set in stone.... I have a yearling bred already, so I'll have a start this year anyway.
    Thanks again
    Heidi

7. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California