Is it always easy to sell registered kids?

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by PineRiver, Jan 24, 2008.

1. PineRiver

PineRiver New Member

Jan 21, 2008
    Michigan
    I am just getting into breeding my registered Nigerians. My first kidding last spring gave me a doeling I retained but this years kids will not be able to stay w/ us. I am worried about how my areas economy is and if people in my community are even buying goats w/ times being so rough. I was wondering if anyone has any opinions on what to expect when it comes time to sell these guys. We live in Michigan and believe me, things are tough around here. I may even decide to wait to breed, but I really think the funnest part of having goats of good lines is to have kiddings. I would like to hear if anyone thinks it was really hard to sell their kids. I cry every time that commercial comes on about all the animals needing adopting etc. and it takes the fun out of deciding to breed animals if they won't have loving homes. Thanks.

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    if you have good bloodlines and a place to advertize (I recomend a website and placing adds on free classifieds websites) then you shouldn't have a problem selling them.

3. HollowbeadRanch

HollowbeadRanch New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    NW Alabama
    I think it depends on where you are located at and like Stacey said the bloodlines. I plan on starting with a couple of registered Nigis this year myself to see how well they sale before jumping in head first. I don't know how well they will do around here since very few people even know what Nigerian Dwarfs are in this area, but I have my website up and running good so that should help. It will be interesting to see the responses you get on here about everyone else's experiences :greengrin:

4. fcnubian

fcnubian New Member

Oct 22, 2007