The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
402 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
How many of you are having trouble selling kids? I'm a beginner to goat raising and I have some kids to find homes for, from my first year of kidding. They are ADGA registerable and the Nubians are from well-bred parents out of milk and show lines, and I am getting zero interest with the ads I posted on craigslist and here. The advice I got from the breeder that I bought the dam from is don't "give" them away for cheap, you have time and money into them. They aren't weaned yet and I still have a couple months, so time will tell.

·
Registered
17,285 Posts
Its weird out here for me too. My bottle kids, and non show kids are selling like hot cakes, and my kids out of my supreme grand CH does and bucks aren't going anywhere fast or in a hurry. Slow out here for the ones worth a buck.
I did have some reserved for does, but my girls all had bucks, so those reservations went out the window this year.

·
Goats of da UP
1,142 Posts
I managed to sell an AGS and ADGA blue eyed buckling incredibly fast. But it was probably beginners luck.

Maybe you aren't reaching the right people?

·
Registered
17,285 Posts
Well I think its the fact that a lot of people don't have the money to be buying top of the line goats. Out here everyone is poor right now. Hay is $20 a bale, grain is $19 a bag, replacer is $80 a bag, calf manna is almost $40 a bag now. Put the price of a $500- $1200 kid out of my SGCH buck and does and you need to take out a loan.

·
2,203 Posts
Where the heck are you?

Hay is $5-6 a small bale.
Grain between $10-25.
Manna $30.
Calf replacer is $80. I don't look at goat replacer...lol just when I walked thru I noticed that.

·
Registered
17,285 Posts
Where the heck are you?

Hay is $5-6 a small bale.
Grain between $10-25.
Manna $30.
Calf replacer is $80. I don't look at goat replacer...lol just when I walked thru I noticed that.
Sent me hay??? pleaaaaaaase?